Higher Technical Qualifications | Selby College
Skip to main content

Higher Technical Qualifications

What are Higher Technical Qualifications (HTQs)?

HTQs are technical qualifications developed in partnership with leading employers and aim to help students get the right training and skills needed to succeed in the workplace. HTQs offer a more practical, employer-focused study programme and are offered as a viable alternative to degrees or apprenticeships.

Types of HTQs

There are many different types of HTQs, such as:

  • Higher national diplomas
  • Higher national certificates
  • Foundation degrees
  • Higher education diplomas
  • Digital HTQs

HTQs available at Selby College

We currently offer Higher National Certificate/Diploma in Computing as a HTQ and there are exciting plans to have more available soon.

Starting a HTQ

To start a HTQ you must:

  • Be aged 18 or over
  • Live in England

Entry requirements

The grades or qualifications you’ll need to have will depend on the type of course you’re applying for. Please refer to our individual course pages for specific course requirements.

Look around before you choose