Beat The Jargon | Selby College
Skip to main content
See full course list

Beat The Jargon

Key Terms

Advanced Apprenticeship: A Level 3 Apprenticeship; equivalent to 2 ‘A’ Levels.

Apprenticeship: A Government-funded programme with on-the-job experience and college-based study, allowing you to earn while you learn.

Assessment: A way of judging how you have learned, at exams, practicals, multiple choice tests etc.

Block Release: Attending college for days or weeks at a time as part of your Apprenticeship.

Day Release: Attending college for one day per week as part of your Apprenticeship.

DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service): To complete some Apprenticeships, we need to make sure you haven’t got any past criminal convictions or ASBOs. An example would be Childcare; you cannot complete an Apprenticeship if you have a criminal record.

Degree Apprenticeship: An Apprentice is employed full-time for between 1 and 6 years while studying for a degree at a partner university.

Digital Account: An online portal to manage all aspects of apprenticeship provision where funding can be secured to support apprenticeship training.

End Point Assessment (EPA): The final assessment within the apprentice, to ensure the apprentice can do the job they have been training for.

Expected Duration: This is the typical duration of the apprenticeship plus 3 months to complete the End Point Assessment (EPA).

‘Find an Apprenticeship’: The system which allows you to search and apply for any Apprenticeship across the country.

Functional Skills: Covers Maths, English and ICT. Often studied as part of a course if you haven’t gained the relevant GCSE pass grades (7-4 or equivalent).

Higher Apprenticeship: An Apprenticeship at Level 4 or above.

Initial Assessment: A simple test to assess the current level at which you are working.

Intermediate Apprenticeship: A Level 2 Apprenticeship; equivalent to 5 GCSEs at grades 7-4.

Learning Resources Centre (LRC): Another term for a library, a place where you can study and find information. You can borrow books, DVDs, journals and magazines relevant to your course and use college computers to work, access e-resources and undertake internet research.

Literacy: Another term for English.

Levy: Some large companies pay into an ‘Apprenticeship Levy’ for Apprenticeship training, meaning they are more likely to employ an Apprentice.

Numeracy: Another term for Maths.

Pass, Merit, Distinction: The grades given to the units on BTEC qualifications. Distinction is the highest, followed by Merit, then Pass.

Practical Assessment: A way of assessing the ‘hands on’ skills you have learned on your course. For example, you may be asked to run a coaching session, if you study a Sports course, for which you will be judged and given a score or mark.

Standards: The new model for Apprenticeships; based on specific job roles such as ‘Adult Care Worker’ rather than industries.

Traineeship: A programme of study that combines extended work placement with training to overcome barriers to employment.

Training Provider: The organisation who provides the Apprenticeship qualification outside of your workplace. This is also where your assessor will work.

Unit or Module: A course is normally made up of a number of specific units or modules that will focus on one subject area, all of which need to be completed in order to gain the qualification. For example, you may study Marketing as part of a Business course.

See full course list

Look around before you choose